Accepting and Managing Work Orders in FTM Mobile

    Work orders assigned to you have to be accepted by you in Field Tech Manager so you can manage them.

    Accepting a Work Order

    You can accept a work order that was either assigned to you is in your area.

    How to Accept a work order assigned to you:

    Accepting Work Orders in FTM Mobile

    1. Locate the desired work order, and then tap Accept. The modal updates with options for you to manage the work order.

    How to Accept a work order in your area:

    Accepting Work Orders in Geographical Area in FTM Mobile

    1. Tap All in My Area. The list of all internal work orders appears.
    2. Locate the desired work order, and then tap the down carat located on the top-right of each work order. The modal appears.
    3. Tap Accept. The modal updates with options for you to manage the work order. Also, the accepted work order appears under the Assigned to Me list.

    Managing a Work Order

    On your accepted work orders you can:

    You may also link the work order to a new work order, reassign a new work order, and decline or cancel the work order.

    Changing the Scheduled Date

    You can change the Scheduled Date for a date and time in the future, should you need.

    Note: The Scheduled Date must be in the future to reassign work orders.

    How to change the Scheduled Date:

    1. On the desired work order, tap the Scheduled Date. The date/time scroll appears.
    2. Scroll to select the desired date/time, and then tap Done. The work order updates with the new Scheduled Date.

    Logging Time

    After accepting a work order, you can log the time you have worked on the job, as well as your travel time to and from the job site.

    The fastest way is to tap Log Time on the work order; should you forgot to do so, you may also manually enter your time.

    How to Log Travel Time:

    1. On the desired work order, tap Log Time.
    2. Select Travel in the spin wheel. A running clock appears, which keeps running even when you quit the app.
    3. When you have arrived, tap Stop.
      • The app will check your location to ensure you are onsite.
      • You will see the logged time on the work order.

    How to Log Repair Time:

    1. On the desired work order, tap Log Time.
    2. Select Repair in the spin wheel. The app will check your location to ensure you are onsite.
      • (When onsite) A running clock appears, which keeps running even when you quit the app.
      • (When not onsite) The app will prompt you that you should be closer to the location. Generally, this is within a 0.25 miles from the location, but your configuration may differ.
    3. When finished, tap Stop. The app will check your location to ensure you are onsite so you are able to continue.
    4. Select the appropriate status from the spin wheel (waiting for quote, parts on order, incomplete, or completed).
    5. Add Resolution Notes to describe the work you did on the work order.
    6. Tap Next.
      • The work order updates with the appropriate status.
      • You will see the logged time on the work order.

    Adding Notes and Photos

    Under Notes tab in the work order details, you can:

    • view and create communications between your team and/or the provider; and
    • view automatically generated system notes, such as when a work order was reassigned or moved to a different status.

    Photos are added to work orders as supporting evidence. You can add them either while you are creating the work order, or after the work order is dispatched as additional notes.

    For each work order note you may see:

    • a number next to the blue envelope indicates the number of people who were sent a notification of that particular note;
    • photos related to the work order; and
    • whether the note was marked as 'action required'.
    Note: Only add photos and notes related to your work order. Your facilities team, as well as all internal and external service providers, will see the photos and notes you attach.

    How to Add a Note:

    1. On the desired work order, tap Add Note. The Add Note To <tracking number> modal appears.
    2. Enter a comment in the text field.
    3. (Optional) Tap the Action Required toggle to send a notification to another person.
    4. (Optional) Tap Add Photo to include an image with the note.
    5. Tap Proceed. The Add Recipients page appears. By default, the internal technician is selected.
    6. (Optional) Tap the desired recipient(s) to send a notification, and/or tap Add Email + to include an email not in the list.
      Note: Only users with an email address listed in their user permissions will appear in this list.
    7. Tap Send.
      • The note appears on the Details > Note page.
        • Tap the blue envelope to view the list of emails the work order notification was sent.
        • (When “Action Required” is turned on) A flag is marked on the note, and Action Required appears.
      • An email notification is sent to the selected recipient(s).

    How to add a Photo:

    1. On the desired work order, tap Photos. Your mobile device’s photo options appear for you to either take a new photo or choose an existing photo from your camera’s library.
    2. Once a photo is either captured or taken from your device’s library, the work order uploads the photo as an attachment.