Managing Statuses

    Like a Category, a Status is required on every work order. Contractors cannot edit work orders, however you may opt to enable specific statuses for contractors to select in the notes. The only available billable statuses are “Completed” and “Completed/Confirmed.” Contractors may submit invoices towards billable statuses. 

    All other “Completed” statuses are non-billable. Billable statuses should not be enabled as options to contractors as no validation of work performed would be required.  Please see Status Definitions for descriptions of all default statuses how they are used in the system.

    Status Page

    The table below provides a description of each of the columns on the Statuses page. There are a number of options that you can configure for each status.  These selections can be enabled/disabled by client and extended status. The selected options are visible to contractors but they cannot control what is displayed or required. (Note: the “Can Select” option must be enabled/checked off in order for the other provider options to work.)

    Column

    Description

    Status

    The main status for a work order. The values are Open, In Progress or Completed. Please see the list of Status Definitions for all default Statuses.

    Extended Status

    Configurable additional statuses that help further detail the current main status of a work order. For example, for a work order that is In Progress, you can provide further detail that the contractor has checked into the work order by using an extended status of In Progress - On Site. If the contractor needs to order parts after the initial visit, you can mark it as In Progress - Parts On Order. Some extended statuses are used automatically. Please see the list of Status Definitions for all default Extended Statuses.

    New NTE

    The NTE for the work order will automatically change to this amount when it is selected in the ''Edit" view. Common uses are to change a NTE to $0 (e.g., Cancelled or No Charge).

    Can Select

    Checking this option enables contractors to select this status in the notes for Open and In Progress work orders

    Can Select for Completed

    Checking this option enables contractors to select this status in the notes for Open, In Progress and Completed work orders.

    Shipping Info Req’d

    Requires contractors to enter shipping information for parts such as Carrier or Tracking Number.

    Res Text Req’d

    Requires contractors enter resolution text for the selected status.

    Res Codes Req’d

    Requires contractors to select Resolution Codes from a drop-down box(es). You must set up Resolution Codes before this option will work.

    Scheduled Date Req’d

    Requires contractors  to enter/update the scheduled date for the selected status.

    Change NTE to 0

    The NTE for the work order will automatically change to this amount when the status is selected (e.g., Cancelled or No Charge).

    All columns headers (except Actions) may be clicked to sort the data. Simply click the header link to sort in ascending/descending order.

    How to Add an Extended Status

    You can add a new status if you are an Admin user. You can adjust and control what contractors are able to do when adding extended status.  

    1. Navigate to more > Admin > WO Properties > Statuses. The list of Statuses and Extended Statuses currently set up in the system appears.
    2. Click Add Extended Status. The Add Extended Status pop-up appears.
      Add Extended Status
    3. Select a main status from the Select a status drop-down.
    4. Type your desired extended status in the Extended Status text box.  A list of Status Definitions is available for your convenience.
    5. Enter the New NTE for the extended status, if required.
    6. Check the boxes for your desired Options for Providers. Please see the table above for explanations of each option.
    7. Click Save. Your new Extended Status will be listed on the Status page.

    How to Edit or Delete an Extended Status

    To edit or delete an Extended Status, it must not have any data associated with it in work orders, proposals or invoices. An error message will appear if you attempt to edit or delete an Extended Status associated with data.

    1. Navigate to more > Admin > WO Properties > Statuses. The list of Statuses and Extended Statuses currently set up in the system appears.
    2. Click the edit pencil next to the Extended Status you wish to edit or click the red X to delete.
      • To edit, make your desired changes to the Status in the pop-up, then click Save.
      • To delete, click OK in the confirmation pop-up and the status will be removed from the Status page.